St Stephen's Hall
Built in 1766 as a glamourous Georgian ballroom in the Old Steine, the building was a valuable asset which drew visitors to Brighton from across the country. In 1822 it was connected to The Royal Pavilion and became King George IV’s chapel, prior to being moved to its current location on Montpelier Place in 1851. Closed as a place of worship in 1939, the building has been in charitable use ever since and now operates as a day centre for people who are street homeless in the city.
St Stephen’s Hall, a Grade II* listed building, has recently undergone significant conservation including restoration of many original features. The renovation is an excellent example of how a historic building can be sensitively adapted.
Modern Homelessness in Brighton and Hove, up to 1.5 hours, outreach, upper KS2
Ever wondered about the realities of being street homeless? Students use oral history clips, film, discussion and role-play to investigate common myths and misconceptions about what it is like to experience homelessness
The Hidden History of St Stephen’s Hall, up to 1.5 hours, outreach, upper KS2
From fashionable ballroom in 1766, to King George IV’s chapel in 1822, to day centre in the modern day; students draw from maps, prints and newspaper articles to investigate the fascinating hidden history of St Stephen’s Hall
Customised outreach sessions available